The Jalalabad Association’s Election: Absolute Victory of the Badrul-Moinul Panel


Zahan Ara Dolon: One of the regional organizations of Bangladeshi immigrants, the Jalalabad Association’s election has been held in New York, USA.

The polls were held on June 5 at five polling stations in New York, New Jersey, and Philadelphia. Only 5 of the 19 Executive Council positions were up for election.

The election was held in a joyous and festive atmosphere. The polls were held on June 5 in five centers in New York, New Jersey, and Philadelphia. At night, Chief Election Commissioner Ataur Rahman Selim announced the results of the election. According to the sources of the Jalalabad Association, 14 candidates of the Badrul-Moinul panel were elected on the day of the submission of nomination papers as there were no rival candidates.

The five posts for which the polls were held on June 5 are: President, Vice-President (Sylhet), General Secretary, Treasurer, and Organizing Secretary. As a result, Badrul Hossain Khan was elected as president and Moinul Islam was elected as general secretary. Mohammad Alim has been elected as the treasurer and Ifzal Chowdhury as the organizing secretary. 3715 out of 11 thousand 44 registered voters participated in this election.

The election of the Jalalabad Association was delayed due to Corona. The previous term’s election was not held. As soon as the election date was announced, it became clear who would be elected.

Voting was held at three polling stations in New York. The main center was in the NTV building in Astoria. There was 1 in Ozone Park, 1 in the Bronx, 1 in New Jersey and 1 in Philadelphia. Voting time was from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voting was delayed by 1 hour in some centers due to a late start. Elections were held in a festive and peaceful atmosphere throughout the day. At the end of the election, the election commissioners announced the results at their respective centers. The Chief Election Commissioner, Ataur Rahman Selim, announced the final results of the election at NTV Bhaban.

According to the announced results, Badrul Hossain Khan was elected with 2667 votes. His only rival, Masudul Haque Sanu, got 980 votes. Lukman Hossain has been elected as the Vice President (Sylhet) with 2589 votes. His opponent, Mizanur Rahman, got 880 votes. Moinul Islam was elected as the general secretary with 2359 votes. Saikul Islam, the opponent, received 1214 votes. Mohammad Alim was elected as the treasurer with 2386 votes. His opponent, Misbah Uddin Ahmed, got 1163 votes. Ifzal Chowdhury was elected as the organizing secretary with 2471 votes. His opponent, Shahidul Haque Russell, got 1026 votes.



Previous articleQatar’s Demand For Apology Over Prophet Remarks “Not Important”, Says Kerala Governor
Next article3 sisters committed suicide by jumping into a well


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here